Snapchat responds to the uproar against its privacy policy

A happy man

In order to clear the confusion about their new terms, Snapchat announced that private snaps of users are still protected and no comprise is being made to the privacy of users.

After an uproar by users, Snapchat has given a statement in their blog post stating that the content uploaded by the users is safe with them. They said that snaps privately sent to other users are deleted by default after the user has viewed it or the snap has expired. However, the recipient can always take a snapshot of the snap.

Snapchat clarified:

“But the important point is that Snapchat is not—and never has been—stockpiling your private Snaps or Chats. And because we continue to delete them from our servers as soon as they’re read, we could not—and do not—share them with advertisers or business partners.”

Snapchat further clarified that the license is required for Snaps submitted to Live Stories which the app is then able to share with rest of the world. However, the Privacy Policy and the user’ own privacy settings within the app could restrict the scope of that license so that ‘your personal communications continue to remain truly personal.’

Other popular social networking sites and apps such as Facebook and Twitter have similar language used in their terms and policies. They too have been under heaps of controversies at some time or other.


You may also like:

Comments