Twitter introduces Rangoli shaped Diwali emoji in seven regional languages

Diwali emoji

As Indians around the world prepare to celebrate the festival of light, Twitter joins the festive occasion by launching a special Happy Diwali emoji.

To encourage more people to join in the celebrations in their own language, Twitter is introducing for the first time, the Diwali emoji with hashtags from seven different regional languages — Hindi, Marathi, Gujarati,Tamil, Kannada, Malayalam and Punjabi. The emoji is available starting today until 22 October, 2017.

Unlike past years, Twitter’s Diwali emoji this year symbolises a ‘rangoli’– the purpose of which goes beyond beautification, as it is believed to attract wealth, happiness as well as prosperity. The special Twitter emoji of a ‘Rangoli’ will appear when users include the following hashtags in their Tweets: #HappyDiwali, #HappyDeepavali, #Diwali, #Deepavali, #दिवाली, #दीपावली, #शुभदीपावली, #शुभदीपावळी, #ദീപാവലിആശംസകള്‍, #ದೀಪಾವಳಿಹಬ್ಬದಶುಭಾಷಯಗಳು, #தீபாவளிநல்வாழ்த்துக்கள், and #ਦਿਵਾਲੀਮੁਬਾਰਕ

Diwali emoji

Commenting on the launch, Keya Madhvani, Head of Music and Lifestyle Partnerships, Twitter India, said “Diwali is an important festive occasion for India and we want to encourage more people to share in the celebration. This year, we’re taking it to the next level by enabling people to Tweet with the Diwali emoji in regional language hashtags, adding colour to the conversations around India’s brightest festival!”

The special Twitter Diwali emoji that will appear next to #HappyDiwali, #HappyDeepavali, #Diwali, #Deepavali, #दिवाली, #दीपावली, #शुभदीपावली, #शुभदीपावळी, #ദീപാവലിആശംസകള്‍, #ದೀಪಾವಳಿಹಬ್ಬದಶುಭಾಷಯಗಳು, #தீபாவளிநல்வாழ்த்துக்கள் and #ਦਿਵਾਲੀਮੁਬਾਰਕ.