Facebook is removing the option to start a Messenger Chat on Facebook Groups, starting August 16.
Existing Facebook Groups Chats will be archived and will become read-only on August 22. Participants will still be able to view the conversation by searching for it in Messenger, but they will not be able to send messages or add new people to the conversation.
Although, you would still be able to start a group chat with your friends you are connected to on Messenger.
Facebook Groups has been recently revamped with several major changes to its Privacy Settings and Security for Privacy Groups.
New Groups Privacy Settings
The new privacy model will allow anyone to see who’s in the group and everything that’s shared in Public groups. With private groups, only members can see who else is in the group and what they’ve posted.
Now admins will also be able to clearly choose whether or not the group can be found in search and other places.
By default, a group that was formerly “secret” will now be “private” and “hidden.” A group that was formerly “closed” will now be “private” and “visible.” Groups that are “public” will remain “public” and “visible.”