Data: 18.8 mn tweets recorded as the 11th edition of IPL concludes

Social Samosa
Updated On
New Update
IPL 2018 Twitter Statistics

100% jump in conversation over 2017 as Chennai Super Kings are crowned as the champions in the eleventh edition of Indian Premier League. According to IPL 2018 Twitter Statistics, the micro-blogging platform recorded over 18.8 million tweets about #IPL. This was the most tweeted final ever in the history of the tournament.

IPL 2018 Twitter Statistics - Fans love tweeting about #IPL and sent 18.8 million tweets in 2018, a 100% rise in number of IPL-related tweets in 2017. In addition, the #IPLFinals 2018 was the most tweeted finals ever in the history of the tournament recording over 1 million Tweets.

Aneesh Madani, Head of Sports Partnerships, Asia Pacific, Twitter, said, “This was by far the most talked about IPL on Twitter ever. The excitement was palpable right from the moment Kedhar Jadhav won the first match for the Chennai Super Kings with a boundary at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai and Ambati Rayudu did an encore to win the final. Fans had fun with Indian language emojis for the teams, had access to 170 LIVE episodes of#CricbuzzLIVE on Twitter, and enjoyed a direct connection to commentators with personal video replies via #SelectDugout.”

It is often seen that cricket speaks your language on Twitter, and it showed with the launch of Indian language emojis that were used by the IPL franchises this year. #WhistlePodu#விசில்போடு topped the 2018 Twitter IPL Emoji Index by a mile, coming in 175% ahead of the next team. The full table is here.

  1. Chennai Super Kings: #WhistlePoduor #விசில்போடு
  2. Delhi Daredevils: #DilDillior #दिलदिल्ली
  3. Royal Challengers Bangalore: #PlayBoldor #RCB
  4. Sunrisers Hyderabad: #OrangeArmyor #SRH
  5. Kolkata Knight Riders: #KKRHaiTaiyaaror #কেকেআরতৈরী
  6. Mumbai Indians: #MIor #क्रिकेटमेरीजान
  7. Kings XI Punjab: #LivePunjabiPlayPunjabior #KXIP
  8. Rajasthan Royals: #Hallabolor #हल्लाबोल

Chennai Super Kings gave their fans plenty to celebrate, and they spread their #yellove all across Twitter, making CSK the most mentioned team in the IPL’s 11th season.

  1. Chennai Super Kings @ChennaiIPL
  2. Mumbai Indians @mipaltan
  3. Royal Challengers Bangalore @RCBTweets
  4. Kolkata Knight Riders @KKRiders
  5. Sunrisers Hyderabad @SunRisers
  6. Kings XI Punjab @lionsdenkxip
  7. Delhi Daredevils @DelhiDaredevils
  8. Rajasthan Royals @rajasthanroyals

Some iconic tweets

Here are a few iconic tweets to leave you nostalgic of the IPL fever.

Also Read: #IPL2018: Facebook records 425 mn posts, comments, and reactions


Fans enjoyed the #CricbuzzLIVE show that streamed live on Twitter every day, before during and after the matches during the entire season. There were 170 episodes of Cricbuzz LIVE that were streamed on Twitter. Every Saturday, fans also went to watch the live streams alongside a curated timeline of Tweets from which fans engaged in the cricket conversation. The expert panel of the show featured Zaheer Khan, Harsha Bhogle, Gaurav Kapur, Michael Vaughan, Simon Doull, Joy Bhattacharjya, Gautam Bhimani and Danish Sait.

The show got rave reviews with fans tweeting to show their appreciation for the analysis and humour.

Star Sports #SelectDugout

Star Sports lit up Twitter during IPL with the #SelectDugout experience. Fans got the unique opportunity to have their questions answered via personal video responses from a chance to have their questions answered from a wide group of experts representing multiple nationalities including Brett Lee, Scott Styris, Dean Jones, Anil Kumble, Damien Fleming, Darren Sammy, Graeme Smith, Kevin Pietersen and a host of other select experts.

Twitter Mumbai Indians Royal challengers bangalore Delhi Daredevils kings XI Punjab sunrisers hyderabad Danish Sait Gaurav Kapur Gautam Bhimani Harsha Bhogle Joy Bhattacharjya Michael Vaughan Simon Doull zaheer khan Rajasthan Royals chennai super kings Anil Kumble Brett Lee Damien Fleming Darren Sammy Dean Jones Graeme Smith indian premir lague ipl 11 Kevin Pietersen Scott Styris